WLA: New West Outlasts Victoria into Clinch Mann Cup Berth

Posted on Oct 2, 2017

The New Westminster Salmbonellies are WLA champs for the first time since 2010. (Photo: WLA)

Who’s got next?

Following the Salmonbellies held off the Victoria Shamrocks for a victory on Sunday the Mann Cup contestant for 2017 is from New Westminster. And not only are the Salmonbellies playing for the Cup, they are hosting whomever the Major Series winner may be using Game 1 set for Sept. 8.

The Bellies got a pair of goals from Joel McCready for a 2-0 lead for a 3-2 lead with goals from Evan Messenger and Corey Small double before the Shamrocks rallies. When Little and Drew Belgrave traded goals in the period’s last minute, the Shamrocks carried a lead.

Joe Resetarits Casey Jackson and Chris Wardle pushed the Victoria lead but New West found its groove and put together. That set up a third period in.

New West and Victoria took a lead and an 11-10 lead, respectively with goals from Josh Fagan and Marshall King at 10:03.

But in the last five minutes, Mitch Jones made it an 11-11 match, Kevin Crowley scored what turned out to be the winner at 18:30 and Mike Messenger’s empty net goal at 19:20 on the power play iced it.

For Victoria, Small finished with 3 goals while Aaron Bold finished with 36 saves, and Jackson scored.

Crowley led New West with 3 goals while Messenger Schuss and McCready each scored two. Alexis Buque made 38 saves and won the Bill Ellison Memorial Trophy as the series MVP.

*Western Lacrosse Association*

*Finals (best-of-7)* Everything there is to know about nike lacrosse sticks women’s can be found at bestlacrossesticks.info/.

New Westminster 13, Victoria 11 ( box score ( http://westernlacrosse.stats.pointstreak.com/boxscore.html?gameid=3176450 ) ), New West wins series, 4-1